The Modern Jazz Quartet – Fontessa

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Fontessa is a 1956 album by The Modern Jazz Quartet released on Atlantic Records.

The Allmusic review described the album as “a particularly strong all-around set”, saying that Lewis’s “Versailles” and the title track “show the seriousness of the group (and the influence of Western classical music)”, while other pieces “look toward the group’s roots in bop and permit the band to swing hard”.

Track listing:
“Versailles” (John Lewis) – 3:22
“Angel Eyes” (Earl Brent, Matt Dennis) – 3:48
“Fontessa” (Lewis) – 11:12
“Over the Rainbow” (Harold Arlen, E.Y. Harburg) – 3:50
“Bluesology” (Milt Jackson) – 5:04
“Willow Weep for Me” (Ann Ronell) – 4:47
“Woody ‘n’ You” (Dizzy Gillespie) – 4:25

John Lewis – piano
Milt Jackson – vibraphone
Percy Heath – double bass
Connie Kay – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: January 22 and February 14, 1956
Studio: New York City and Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 36:28
Label: Atlantic
Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun