The Charlie Watts Orchestra – Live At Fulham Town Hall (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Charlie Watts, the Rolling Stones’ longtime drummer, has his roots in jazz and always loved the music. In 1986 he financed a worldwide tour by an oversized orchestra comprised of seven trumpeters, four trombones, three altoists, six tenors, a baritonist, a clarinetist, two vibraphonists, piano, two basses, cello and three drummers including the leader. Most of the musicians are English and they include among the bigger names altoist Peter King, the tenors of Evan Parker, Danny Moss and Courtney Pine, trumpeters Harry Beckett and Jimmy Deuchar, trombonist Paul Rutherford, pianist Stan Tracey and Jack Bruce on cello. While “Moonglow” features the two vibes and “Scrapple from the Apple” focuses on the two bassists, the other swing-era numbers (“Stompin’ at the Savoy,” “Lester Leaps In,” “Robbins Nest” and “Flying Home”) have the full big band playing a bit ragged but with plenty of excitement; “Lester Leaps In” is a massive tenor battle. Although one wonders how much money the tour must have cost Watts, the music (which mixes together bop players with more avant-garde explorers) is well worth hearing.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic

Track listing:

Stomping At The Savoy 4:54
Lester Leaps In 11:32
Moonglow 6:02
Robbins Nest 10:18
Scrapple From The Apple 3:42
Flying Home 7:37



Bass – Dave Green, Ron Mathewson
Cello – Jack Bruce
Conductor, Arranged By – Alan Cohen
Engineer – Arnold Dunn, Malcolm Rodgers, Mick McKenna
Mixed By – Keith Grant
Percussion – Bill Eyden, Charlie Watts, John Stevens
Piano – Stan Tracy
Producer – Charlie Watts, John Stevens
Saxophone [Alto] – Peter King, Ray Warleigh, Willie Garnett
Saxophone [Baritone] – Gail Thompson
Saxophone [Tenor] – Alan Skidmore, Bobby Wellins, Courtney Pine, Danny Moss, Don Weller, Evan Parker
Trombone – Annie Whitehead, Chris Pyne, John Picard, Paul Rutherford
Trumpet – Colin Smith, Dave Defries, Harry Beckett, Jimmy Deuchar, John Huckeridge, Steve Sidwell, Ted Emmett
Vibraphone – Bill Lesage, Jim Lawless


Released: March 23, 1986