The Brecker Brothers ‎– The Brecker Bros.

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Brecker Bros. is the debut album by the American jazz fusion group, The Brecker Brothers. It was released by Arista Records in 1975.

AllMusic awarded the album with 4.5 stars and its review by Michael G. Nastos states: “First date for brothers from 1975. Side one is solid jazz/funk/fusion”. At the 1976 Grammy Awards, the album received three nominations: Best R&B Instrumental Performance (“Sneakin’ up Behind You”), Best New Artist and Best Instrumental Arrangement (Randy Brecker for “Some Skunk Funk”).

All compositions by Randy Brecker except where noted.

“Some Skunk Funk” — 5:51
“Sponge” — 4:05
“A Creature of Many Faces” — 7:40
“Twilight” — 5:43
“Sneakin’ up Behind You” (Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Don Grolnick, Will Lee, David Sanborn) — 4:54
“Rocks” — 4:39
“Levitate” — 4:31
“Oh My Stars” — 3:13
“D.B.B” — 4:46

Randy Brecker – trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals on “Oh My Stars”
Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone
David Sanborn – alto saxophone
Don Grolnick – keyboards
Bob Mann – guitar
Will Lee – bass, vocals on “Sneakin’ up Behind You”
Harvey Mason – drums
Chris Parker – drums on “Sneakin’ up Behind You”
Ralph MacDonald – percussion


Released: September 1975
Recorded: January 1975
Studio: Secret Sound Studios, New York
Label: Arista, BMG
Producer: Randy Brecker