Sphere ‎– Four In One (The Music Of Thelonious Monk) (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Four in One (subtitled A Tribute to Thelonious Monk) is the debut album by the group Sphere featuring pianist Kenny Barron, bassist Buster Williams, and Monk’s former drummer Ben Riley, and his former saxophonist Charlie Rouse. The album was released by the Elektra/Musician label. Four in One was coincidentally recorded on the day of Monk’s death in 1982, though the musicians were unaware of Monk’s death during the recording session and had not planned the album as a memorial tribute.

“Tremendous tribute effort, outstanding versions of Monk classics. Top-flight Monk repertory effort. ” – Ron Wynn/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Thelonious Monk.

“Four in One” – 6:54
Light Blue” – 3:38
“Monk’s Dream” – 6:01
“Evidence” – 6:01
“Reflections” – 5:58
“Eronel” – 6:53

Charlie Rouse – tenor saxophone
Kenny Barron – piano
Buster Williams – bass
Ben Riley – drum


Released: 1982
Recorded: February 17, 1982
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 32:25
Label: Elektra Musician
Producer: Damu Productions Ltd.