Sonny Rollins ‎– The Bridge (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Bridge is a studio album by jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins, recorded in 1962. It was Rollins’ first release following a three-year sabbatical and was his first recording for Bluebird/RCA Victor. The saxophonist was joined by the musicians with whom he recorded for the next segment of his career: Jim Hall on guitar, Bob Cranshaw on double bass and Ben Riley on drums (

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins’ first recording after ending a surprising three-year retirement found the great saxophonist sounding very similar to how he had played in 1959, although he would soon start investigating freer forms. In a pianoless quartet with guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Ben Riley, Rollins explores four standards (including “Without a Song” and “God Bless the Child”) plus two fiery originals, highlighted by the title cut. The interplay between Rollins and Hall is consistently impressive, making this set a near-classic and a very successful comeback (


Track listing:
“Without a Song” (Edward Eliscu, Billy Rose, Vincent Youmans) – 7:28
“Where Are You?” (Harold Adamson, Jimmy McHugh) – 5:10
“John S.” (Sonny Rollins) – 7:43
“The Bridge” (Rollins) – 6:00
“God Bless the Child” (Arthur Herzog Jr., Billie Holiday) – 7:27
“You Do Something to Me” (Cole Porter) – 6:48

Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Jim Hall – guitar
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Ben Riley – drums
Harry “H.T.” Saunders – drums (replaces Riley on “God Bless the Child”)

“God Bless the Child” recorded on January 30, 1962
“Where Are You?”, “John S.” and “You Do Something to Me” recorded on February 13,
“Without a Song” and “The Bridge” on February 14, 1962


Released: 1962
Recorded: January 30 and February 13-14, 1962
RCA-Victor Studio B, New York City
Length: 40:36
Label: RCA-Victor
Producer: Bob Prince