Rusty Bryant – Rusty Bryant Returns (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Rusty Bryant Returns is an album by jazz saxophonist Rusty Bryant recorded for the Prestige label in 1969. The album marked Bryant’s return to recording, being the first under his leadership since 1957.

“Rusty Bryant, a veteran R&B tenor player, was somewhat forgotten at the time of his debut Prestige album, but due to the commercial success of this recording, Bryant would record seven more sessions for Prestige during the next five years. Actually, this date is a bit surprising, with Bryant sticking exclusively to alto and sometimes using an electrified model similar to what Lou Donaldson was playing at the time. The music (mostly blues-oriented originals) is enjoyable, with plenty of boogaloos and soulful vamps. In addition to Bryant, the main soloists are guitarist Grant Green, in excellent form, and organist Sonny Phillips.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Track listing:
All compositions by Rusty Bryant except as noted

“Zoo Boogaloo” – 7:19
“The Cat” (Lalo Schifrin) – 7:49
“Ready Rusty?” – 4:46
“Streak O’ Lean” – 5:56
“Night Flight” – 7:53
“All Day Long” (Kenny Burrell) – 9:39

Rusty Bryant – alto saxophone
Sonny Phillips – organ
Grant Green – guitar
Bob Bushnell – bass
Herbie Lovelle – drums


Released: 1969
Recorded: February 17, 1969
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 43:22
Label: Prestige
PR 7626
Producer: Bob Porter