Roy Brooks – The Free Slave (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Free Slave is a live album by drummer Roy Brooks recorded in 1970 and released on the Muse label in 1972.

“This is a band for the ages” (Michael G. Nastos , AllMusic).

Track listing:
“The Free Slave”(Roy Brooks)  – 12:18
“Understanding” (Roy Brooks) – 10:57
“Will Pan’s Walk” (Cecil McBee) – 9:07
“Five for Max” (Roy Brooks) – 13:40

Roy Brooks – drums
Woody Shaw – trumpet
George Coleman – tenor saxophone
Hugh Lawson – piano
Cecil McBee – bass


Released: 1972
Recorded: April 26, 1970
Left Bank Jazz Society, Baltimore, Maryland
Length: 46:02
Label: Muse
MR 5003
Producer: Roy Brooks