Pee Wee Russell With Buck Clayton ‎– Swingin’ With Pee Wee

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Swingin’ with Pee Wee is an album by clarinetist Pee Wee Russell with trumpeter Buck Clayton which was recorded in 1960 and released on the Swingville label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 5 stars and stated “Russell and trumpeter Buck Clayton make for a perfectly compatible team on the 1960 date … His playing is much more consistent and comfortable on the mid-tempo material than usual and he mostly gets to avoid the overly hyper Dixieland warhorses. A gem”.

Track listing:

“What Can I Say Dear” (Walter Donaldson, Abe Lyman) – 5:00
“Midnight Blue” (Pee Wee Russell) – 5:38
“The Very Thought of You” (Ray Noble) – 4:40
“Lulu’s Back In Town” (Harry Warren, Al Dubin) – 5:02
“Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams” (Harry Barris, Ted Koehler, Billy Moll) – 5:37
“I Would Do Most Anything for You” (Mack David) – 6:07
“Englewood” (Pee Wee Russell) – 6:40

Pee Wee Russell – clarinet
Buck Clayton – trumpet
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Wendell Marshall – bass
Osie Johnson – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: March 29, 1960
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 38:44
Label: Swingville
SV 2008
Producer: Esmond Edwards