Miles Davis and Milt Jackson – Quintet / Sextet

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Miles Davis and Milt Jackson Quintet/Sextet, also known as Quintet/Sextet and sometimes also as Miles Davis and Milt Jackson and reissued as Miles Davis: Odyssey!, is an album which compiles recordings made for Prestige Records on August 5, 1955, by Miles Davis. Credited to “Miles Davis and Milt Jackson”, this was an “all-star” session and did not feature any of the members of Davis’s working group of the time (Sonny Rollins, Red Garland, Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones). Jackie McLean only plays on his own compositions.

Track listing:
Side one
1. “Dr. Jackle” (Jackie McLean) 8:55
2. “Bitty Ditty” (Thad Jones) 6:37
Side two
1. “Minor March” (Jackie McLean) 8:18
2. “Changes” (Ray Bryant) 7:11

Miles Davis – trumpet
Milt Jackson – vibraphone
Jackie McLean – alto saxophone (only on “Dr. Jackle” and “Minor March”)
Ray Bryant – piano
Percy Heath – bass
Art Taylor – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: August 5, 1955
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack
Length: 31:01
Label: Prestige
PRLP 7034
Producer: Bob Weinstock