Linc Chamberland, David Friesen – Yet To Come (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Lionel Victor Chamberland (13 September 1940 – 24 June 1987) was an American jazz guitarist born and based in Norwalk, Connecticut. After playing with The Orchids in the 1960s, he stopped touring, became a private teacher, and performed regionally. Tommy Mottola, who in 1990 became the Chairman and CEO of Sony Music Entertainment, called Chamberland “one of the greatest guitarist of all time.” In his 2013 book, Hit Maker, Mottola said, “You won’t find any mention of Linc when Rolling Stone magazine does a cover story listing their top hundred guitarists. Take from me. In 1966, you never heard anything like Linc.” Billy Vera, in his 2017 autobiography, referred to Chamberland as “the Telecaster genius.”

This is the second album by Linc Chamberlain on Muse Records. He is joined here with David Friesen another virtuoso of his chosen instrument, the Double Bass. Linc and David join together seamlessly as they interpret some wonderful tunes. Two of which are Wayne Shorter compositions and some old jazz standards. They are joined at times with Gary Hobbs on drums. Although this album is not as electrifying as “A Place Within” the listener is still drawn into the magic of both players. It is definitely just as essential. Chamberland crafts a unique playing style, which is quite different to other guitarists. Unfortunately, Chamberland died 6 years after recording this album, so we have no other recordings to make further comparisons. In this regard take the opportunity to listen to the beautiful sounds he was able to create alongside David whilst still alive. He leaves a legacy that will continue to encapsulate many a budding guitarist.

Track listing:

Side 1
1. I Hear A Rhapsody (George Fragos, Jack Baker, Dick Gasparre) 7:45
2. Virgo (Wayne Shorter) 7:25
3. Have You Met Mrs. Jones? (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) 7:23

Side 2
B1. Footprints (Wayne Shorter) 8:03
B2. Yet To Come (Linc Chamberlain) 7:39
B3. Autumn Leaves (Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer) 6:35


David Friesen – bass
Gary Hobbs – drums
Linc Chamberland – guitar


Label: Muse Records ‎– MR 5263
Released: 1983