Kenny Wheeler & Bob Brookmeyer – Island (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Island is a studio album by Canadian musician Kenny Wheeler and trombonist Bob Brookmeyer, recorded in 2002 and released on Artist House Records in 2003.

“Two giants of modern jazz align for Bob Brookmeyer & Kenny Wheeler Quintet Island, a two-CD production, one of which is a DVD featuring band commentary, transcribed solos, and interviews. Here, valve trombone master Bob Brookmeyer and trumpet legend Kenny Wheeler project warmth and nuance atop a traditional drums/bass/piano based quintet setting as Wheeler’s relatively infamous, yearning lines and climactically constructed lyricism remain consistent throughout. The duo alternates soloing activities while also coalescing for softly stated choruses during these predominately medium-tempo jazz works. On this release, pianist Frank Carlberg provides complementary melodies amid the rhythm section’s buoyantly constructed undercurrents. The band pursues sanguine balladry amid the lead soloists’ often engaging dialogues, although Wheeler reaches for the stars via a series of nicely articulated high notes on “Upstairs With Beatrice.” With this piece, the always-inventive drummer John Hollenbeck peppers his toms in support of the trumpeter’s ascending mode of attack. Many of these compositions feature movements consisting of undulating swing grooves and pleasant melodies. On the flip side, one might have hoped for a few up-tempo numbers injected into the mix, as the unwavering flow creates a bit of a blur about midway through the program.” – Glenn Astarita/AllMusic

Track listing:
“Before the First Time” (Kenny Wheeler) – 7:56
“114” (Kenny Wheeler) – 7:29
“Where Do We Go From Here?” (Kenny Wheeler) – 7:45
“Song for Kenny” (Bob Brookmeyer) – 9:43
“Upstairs with Beatrice” (Bob Brookmeyer) – 7:22
“Island” (Bob Brookmeyer) – 9:46
“Strange One” (Kenny Wheeler) – 5:40

Kenny Wheeler – trumpet, flugelhorn
Bob Brookmeyer – trombone
Frank Carlberg – piano
Jeremy Allen – bass
John Hollenbeck – drums


Released: August 19, 2003
Recorded: September 27–29, 2002
Studio:Mix One Studios, Boston, MA
Length: 55:41
Label: Artists House AH 006
Producer: John Snyder