John Patitucci – Soul of the Bass

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“It took me 40 years to get up the courage to make this album,” he recently said by phone from his home in New York State, describing the self-released, 38-minute Soul Of The Bass. “I didn’t want people to get bored. That’s why I kept it on the shorter side.”

Patitucci’s album is constantly stimulating, thanks to an impressive variety of moods (from mysterious to funky), timbres (from deep, woody tones on double bass to sprightly treble chords on his custom Yamaha six-string electric), and musical styles (blues, Bach, post-bop and more). He wisely leavens the mix with occasional guest appearances: the spectacularly funky Nate Smith drumming on two tracks; his two talented daughters Isabella and Gracie (an L.A.-based singer-songwriter working as Greisun), who provide spectral vocal layers on one striking piece; and his cellist wife Sachi, with whom he creates an ethereal overdubbed bass/cello octet for the album’s finale.” – DownBeat.

1 Soul Of The Bass 2:23
2 Seeds Of Change 2:37
3 Morning Train 2:01
4 The Call 3:31
5 Mystery Of The Soul 3:41
6 Morocco 1:45
7 Elvin 2:28
8 Earth Tones 3:15
9 Seeds Of Change Reprise 2:48
10 Allemande In D Miner (J.S.Bach) 5:45
11 Sarab 3:52
12 Trust 1:47
13 Truth 1:55


John Patitucci – bass


Released: April 19, 2019