Joe Zawinul – Di•a•lects

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Di•a•lects, Music for solo synthesizers and voices is the fourth studio album by Joe Zawinul which was released in 1986. It was created by Zawinul alone with his programmed synths and rhythm machines, using vocoders on his own vox and importing Bobby McFerrin’s improvised onomatopoeics and a vocal trio singing in a Zawinul-created language on other tracks.”

Allmusic awarded the album five stars and reviewer Richard S. Ginell wrote: “This is an important, overlooked album because it proves that electronic instruments can reach your emotions and shake your body when played by someone who has bothered to learn how to master them.”



Track listing:
All tracks composed by Joe Zawinul

“The Harvest” – 6:04
“Waiting for the Rain” – 7:38
“Zeebop” – 4:50
“The Great Empire” – 3:57
“Carnavalito” – 6:18
“6 A.M./Walking on the Nile” – 7:06
“Peace” – 6:49

Joe Zawinul – synthesizers, vocals
Bobby McFerrin – vocals
Carl Anderson – vocals
Dee Dee Bellson – vocals
Alfie Silas – vocals


Released: June 1986
Recorded: 1985
Studio: The Music Room, Pasadena, California
Length: 42:21
Label: Columbia
Producer: Joe Zawinul