Jazz Tribune No. 1- Johnny Hodges- Wild Bill Davis Volume 1-2 (1965-1966) (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This enjoyable double-CD from the RCA’s Jazz Tribune series combines together a pair of sessions from altoist Johnny Hodges and organist Wild Bill Davis. The earlier set has the pair joined by guitarists, Mundell Lowe and Dickie Thompson, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Osie Johnson, while the second session has trombonist Lawrence Brown, Bob Brown on tenor and flute, Thompson returning on guitar, and drummer Bobby Durham. Another difference between the two dates is that the later album (which has been reissued on CD in the Bluebird series) was recorded in concert. The music generally sticks to standards (many written by Duke Ellington), ballads and an occasional blues. Hodges and Davis were a surprisingly complementary team (their collaborations were a brief vacation from their usual settings), and they seem to inspire each other. Fine swing-based music.

Track listing:

Disc 1

A1 On The Sunny Side Of The Street 0:00
A2 On Green Dolphin Street 3:50
A3 Lil’ Darlin’ 7:09
A4 Con Soul And Sax 11:23
A5 The Jeep Is Jumpin’ 16:19
B1 I’m Beginning To See The Light 18:48
B2 Sophisticated Lady 22:17
B3 Drop Me Off In Harlem 26:23
B4 No One 30:48
B5 Johnny Come Lately 34:13

Disc 2

C1 It’s Only A Paper Moon 37:21
C2 Taffy 40:22
C3 Good Queen Bess 46:05
C4 L.B. Blues 49:27
C5 In A Mellotone 55:06
D1 Rockville 58:54
D2 I’ll Always Love You 01:05:28
D3 It Don’t Mean A Thing 01:09:19
D4 Belle Of The Belmont 01:14:59


A1, A3, A5, B1, B2
Johnny Hodges (as); Wild Bill Davis (organ); Dickie Thompson, Mundell Lowe (g); Milton Hinton (b); Osie Johnson (dm). N.Y. 7 January 1965.

A2, A4, B3, B4, B5
same place George Duviver (b) replaces Milton Hinton. Studio RCA, N. Y., 7 January 1965.

C2, C3, C4, C5, D2, D4
Johnny Hodges (as); Wild Bill davis (organ); Lawrence Brown (tb); Bob Brown (ts, fl); Dickie Thompson (g); Bobby Durham (dm). Grace´s Little Belmont, Atlantic City, 10 August 1966.

C1, D1, D3
same formation, Atlantic City, 11 August 1966.