Jackie McLean ‎– Capuchin Swing

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Capuchin Swing is an album by American saxophonist Jackie McLean recorded in 1960 and released on the Blue Note label.

“One of Jackie McLean’s more underrated albums from a plethora of Blue Note releases, 1960’s Capuchin Swing finds the bebop alto saxophonist in fine form on a mix of covers and originals. While his future fascination with Ornette Coleman’s free-form innovations can be sensed in some of the solos here, the majority of the album is in a classic hard bop vein. Like contemporaries Hank Mobley, Sonny Clark, and Lee Morgan, though, McLean doesn’t just churn out pat jam-session fare, but comes up with consistently provocative charts and solos. Eschewing ballads, McLean focuses on mid- to fast-tempo swingers and blues. Standouts include originals like “Francisco” and “Condition Blue” and choice renditions of “Just for Now” and “Don’t Blame Me.” McLean enlists a sparkling lineup of hard bop stars, including trumpeter Blue Mitchell, pianist Walter Bishop, Jr., bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Art Taylor. Mitchell particularly impresses, matching many of McLean’s own inspired flights with his supple and progressive playing. Along with other fine Blue Note titles like Jackie’s Bag and Bluesnik, Capuchin Swing makes for a great introduction to McLean’s extensive catalog.” – Stephen Cook/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Francisco”(Jackie McLean) – 9:33
“Just for Now” (Walter Bishop, Jr.) – 7:33
“Don’t Blame Me” (Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh) – 4:24
“Condition Blue” (Jackie McLean) – 8:13
“Capuchin Swing” (Jackie McLean) – 6:10
“On the Lion” (Bishop) – 4:44

Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
Blue Mitchell – trumpet
Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Art Taylor – drums


Released: Early December 1960
Recorded: April 17, 1960
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Length: 40:37
Label: Blue Note
BLP 4038
Producer: Alfred Lion