Jack Sheldon ‎– The Quartet & The Quintet (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“There is a lot of music on this 1998 CD which has trumpeter Jack Sheldon’s first two LP’s as a leader plus three selections originally put out on various samplers. Although not as distinctive a soloist as he would become, at this early stage Sheldon was already a technically skilled and creative bop soloist. Sheldon is well-featured on three songs in a quintet with altoist Joe Maini, on eight numbers with a quartet that co-stars pianist Walter Norris and on the remaining eight tunes in a quintet with tenor-saxophonist Zoot Sims and pianist Norris. The music is purely straightahead and fairly spontaneous yet generally concise and serves as an excellent example of both early Jack Sheldon and mid-50’s L.A. bop.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

01 Groovus Mentus (00:00)
(Cole Porter)

02 Ah Moore (02:34)
(Al Cohn)

03 Dozo (05:48)
(Walter Norris)

04 Mad About The Boy (08:32)
(Noel Coward)

05 Toot Sweet (11:27)
(Ralph Peña)

06 Jack Departs (14:20)
(Walter Norris)

07 What Is There To Say (17:28)
(Vernon Duke)

08 Groovus Mentus (21:09)
(Jack Sheldon)

09 Beach-Wise (25:08)
(Bob Whitlock)

10 Palermo Walk (28:23)
(Bob Whitlock)

11 Blues (31:42)

12 Irresistible You (36:29)
(Raye & De Paul)

13 Guatemala (40:30)
(Walter Norris)

14 Getting Sentimental Over You (43:55)
(Ned Washington)


The Quartet:

Jack Sheldon – trumpet
Walter Norris – piano
Ralph Pena – bass
Gene Gammage – drums

The Quintet:

Jack Sheldon – trumpet
Zoot Sims – tenor saxophone
Walter Norris – piano
Bob Whitlock – bass
Lawrence Marable – drums


Label: Jazz: West ‎– JWLP 6
Country: US
Released: 1956
Recorded: 1954 & December 18, 1955
Recorded Location:
Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Western Recorders, Los Angeles, CA