Houston Person – The Nearness Of You (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Nearness of You’ is an album by saxophonist Houston Person recorded in 1977 and released on the Muse label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
The soulful and always-swinging tenor Houston Person is in typically fine form on this enjoyable LP (not yet reissued on CD). Joined by trumpeter Virgil Jones, guitarist Melvin Sparks, organist Charles Earland, Sonny Phillips on electric piano, bassist Mervyn Bronson, drummer Grady Tate and percussionist Lawrence Killian, Person explores such numbers as “Freddie the Freeloader” and “Mean to Me.” Singer Etta Jones pops by for one song, the blues “Please Mr. Person” (based on “Please Mr. Johnson” by the Buddy Johnson band of the 1940s). A fun date.

Track listing:
Pretty Please” (Harold Ousley) – 8:00
“Please Mr. Person” (Buddy Johnson) – 4:38
“I Hope I Can Love Again” (Ousley) – 5:00
“Freddie the Freeloader” (Miles Davis) – 5:29
“The Nearness of You” (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington) – 4:59
“Mean to Me” (Fred E. Ahlert, Roy Turk) – 5:18

Houston Person – tenor saxophone
Virgil Jones – trumpet
Melvin Sparks – guitar
Charles Earland – organ
Sonny Phillips – electric piano
Mervyn Bronson – bass
Grady Tate – drums
Lawrence Killian – percussion
Ella Johnson – vocals (track 2)

Recorded: November 1977
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ