Herb Ellis and Ross Tompkins ‎– A Pair To Draw To

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Guitarist Herb Ellis and pianist Ross Tompkins perform nine standards on this duet set with the emphasis on light tasteful swinging and ballads. The melodic results are pleasant but sometimes a touch dull and generally lacking in excitement or any real surprises. None of the songs (which include “Someday My Prince Will Come,” “You Stepped Out of a Dream,” “A Child Is Born” and “The More I See You”) have exactly been underplayed through the years (Scott Yanow/Allmusic).


A1 They Didn’t Believe Me 0:00
A2 Here’s That Rainy Day 3:26
A3 Someday My Prince Will Come 7:04
A4 You And The Night And The Music 11:55
A5 A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square 16:35
B1 You Stepped Out Of A Dream 20:19
B2 A Child Is Born 25:08
B3 Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most 28:33
B4 The More I See You 34:32

Herb Ellis – guitar
Ross Tompkins – piano


Label: Concord Jazz ‎– CJ-17
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1976