Freddie Green – Mr. Rhythm

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Mr. Rhythm is the sole album led by jazz guitarist Freddie Green. The album was recorded in late 1955 for RCA Victor.

“This album shows him (Freddie Green – projazz) to be a fine leader who is happy to remain in his role as rhythm guitarist. For fans of Green, and for those who enjoy swinging jazz with great soloists, Mr. Rhythm is a fine release.” – Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr. /AllMusic.

Track listing:
All tracks written by Freddie Green except where noted.

1. “Up in the Blues” 2:36
2. “Down for the Double” 4:01
3. “Back and Forth” 2:20
4. “Free and Easy” 3:27
5. “Learnin’ the Blues” (Delores Vicki Silvers) 3:31
6. “Feed Bag” 3:01
7. “Something’s Got to Give” 2:55
8. “Easy Does It” (Sy Oliver, Trummy Young) 3:46
9. “Little Red” 2:11
10. “Swinging Back” 3:25
11. “A Date with Ray” 4:55
12. “When You Wish Upon a Star” (Leigh Harline, Ned Washington) 2:37

Freddie Green – guitar
Joe Newman – trumpet
Henry Coker – trombone
Al Cohn – tenor saxophone, clarinet
Nat Pierce – piano
Milt Hinton – double bass
Osie Johnson – drums
Jo Jones – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: December 18, 1955
Studio: Webster Hall, New York City
Length: 38:45
Label: RCA Victor
Producer Jack Lewis