Evgueni Galperine – 5 Songs from the Theory Of Becoming (ECM, 2022)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The ECM New Series debut of Evgueni Galperine is one of the most strikingly original and evocative albums of the year. A composer of Russian and Ukrainian heritage, living in Paris since 1990, Galperine is working with sound, texture and dynamics in new and powerfully expressive ways. As he explains, the sound world of Theory of Becoming represents an “augmented reality of acoustic instruments, created from recordings made with real and virtual instruments. The numerous transformations the instruments undergo allow me to capture their acoustic nature while also adding techniques and colours impossible to produce in reality…” Galperine’s compositions address wide ranging subjects: from the resilience of hope in the face of destruction to meditations on the journey of the soul, as well as travels through space and through the magical forests of Max Ernst’s paintings. Theory of Becoming was recorded and mixed 2020-21 in Paris, at Studio EPG and Studios de la Seine. Produced by Manfred Eicher.


Composed By – Evgueni Galperine
Design – Sascha Kleis
Electronics, Sampler [Sampling] – Evgueni Galperine
Engineer [Recording] – Aymeric Létoquart*
Liner Notes – Evgueni Galperine
Mixed By – Aymeric Létoquart*, Evgueni Galperine, Manfred Eicher
Painting [Cover Painting] – Lorenzo Recio
Photography By [Photos] – Craig McDean
Producer [Album Produced By] – Manfred Eicher
Text By [Quote In Booklet (French)] – Jean Giraudoux
Trumpet – Sergei Nakariakov (tracks: A2, B1, B3)
Violoncello – Sébastien Hurtaud (tracks: A1)
Voice – Maria Vasyukova (tracks: B4)