Ernie Wilkins and Frank Wess – Flutes & Reeds

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Flutes & Reeds is an album by American jazz saxophonist/composer/arranger Ernie Wilkins and saxophonist/flautist Frank Wess featuring performances recorded in 1955 and first released on the Savoy label.

Track listing:
All compositions by Ernie Wilkins except where noted

“Shorty George” (Count Basie, Andy Gibson) – 5:40
“Bouncin’ with Boots”– 11:17
“That’s a Woman” (Marcel Daniels) – 3:19
“Doin’ the Thing” (Frank Foster) – 6:41
“Blues in a Cold Water Flat” – 5:14
“Stereophonic” – 3:09

Ernie Wilkins – alto saxophone, – featured on track 3 – arranger, conductor
Jerome Richardson, Frank Wess – tenor saxophone, flute
Hank Jones – piano
Eddie Jones – bass
Kenny Clarke – drums


Released: 1955
Recorded: August 2, 1955
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ
Length: 35:20
Label: Savoy
MG 12022
Producer: Ozzie Cadena