Eric Dolphy – Here and There

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Here and There is a jazz album by multi-instrumentalist Eric Dolphy. It was originally released in 1966 on the Prestige label as PRLP 7382. The album included three live takes recorded in different places and one studio take. The CD re-issue also includes a take of “G.W.”, previously released on Dash One. “God Bless the Child” is a bass clarinet solo, not a usual performance in jazz music and Dolphy’s earliest recording of this tune. Mal Waldron’s “Status Seeking” is from the same recordings that yielded “Live At The Five Spot”.

“This CD reissue has rarities from three different Eric Dolphy sessions. “April Fool” and the alternate take of “G.W.” are drawn from Dolphy’s initial date as a leader, a quintet outing with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard and pianist Jaki Byard. “Don’t Blame Me” is taken from a Copenhagen concert but it is the two remaining numbers (“Status Seeking” and an unaccompanied rendition on bass clarinet of “God Bless the Child”) that are of greatest interest. The latter cuts are taken from Dolphy’s legendary gig at the Five Spot Cafe with trumpeter Booker Little, pianist Mal Waldron, bassist Richard Davis and drummer Ed Blackwell, not duplicating the seven more famous performances that are often thought of as the group’s entire output. Although it is easy to think of this set on a whole as containing “leftovers,” Dolphy’s strong playing on alto, flute and bass clarinet makes the music of strong interest to his fans.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Status Seeking” (Waldron) – 13:08
“God Bless the Child” (Billie Holiday/Arthur Herzog Jr.) – 5:16
“April Fool” (Dolphy) – 4:10
“G.W.” [Take 1] (Dolphy) – 12:11
“Don’t Blame Me” (Jimmy McHugh/Dorothy Fields) – 13:07

Eric Dolphy – alto saxophone (tracks 1, 4), bass clarinet (2), flute (3, 5)
Mal Waldron – piano (1)
Booker Little – trumpet (1)
Eddie Blackwell – drums (1)
Richard Davis – double bass (1)
Roy Haynes – drums (3, 4)
Freddie Hubbard – trumpet (4)
George Tucker – double bass (3, 4)
Jaki Byard – piano (3, 4)
Bent Axen – piano (5)
Erik Moseholm – double bass (5)
Jorn Elniff – drums (5)


Released: May 1966
Recorded: Tracks 1 and 2 on July 16, 1961
Five Spot, New York City
Tracks 3 and 4 on April 1, 1960
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Track 5 on September 6, 1961
Berlingske Hus, Copenhagen
Length: 46:15
Label: Prestige
PRLP 7382
Producer: Esmond Edwards