Emily Remler Quartet ‎– Take Two (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Emily Remler’s second recording as a leader finds the 24-year-old guitarist still very much playing in the Wes Montgomery vein, although showing her own musical personality here and there. She is joined by pianist James Williams, bassist Don Thompson, and drummer Terry Clarke on a challenging set of material filled with obscurities. Certainly such numbers as Cannonball Adderley’s “Cannonball,” Dexter Gordon’s “For Regulars Only,” McCoy Tyner’s “Search for Peace,” and Monty Alexander’s “Eleuthra” are rarely performed. Better known are “In Your Own Sweet Way” and “Afro Blue”; Remler also contributes two originals. Throughout the date the guitarist displays a great deal of potential, much of which would sadly go unrealized due to her early death.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

A1 Cannonball 0:00
A2 In Your Own Sweet Way 4:55
A3 For Regulars Only 9:53
A4 Search for Peace 16:42
B1 Pocket West 22:06
B2 Waltz for My Grandfather 28:56
B3 Afro Blue 35:38
B4 Eleuthra 38:09


Don Thompson – bass
Terry Clarke – drums
Emily Remler – guitar
James Williams – piano


Label: Concord Jazz ‎
Country: US
Released: 1982
Producer: Carl E. Jefferson