Don Wilkerson – Preach Brother!

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Preach Brother! is an album by American saxophonist Don Wilkerson recorded in 1962 and released on the Blue Note label.

The Allmusic review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine awarded the album 4 stars and stated, “The result is another fine record that proves Wilkerson was one of the best, hardest-hitting soul-jazz saxophonists of the early ’60s”.



Track listing:
All compositions by Don Wilkerson

“Jeanie-Weenie” – 5:01
“Homesick Blues” – 6:40
“Dem Tambourines” – 5:38
“Camp Meetin'” – 4:44
“The Eldorado Shuffle” – 6:28
“Pigeon Peas” – 8:35

Don Wilkerson – tenor saxophone, tambourine
Sonny Clark – piano
Grant Green – guitar
Butch Warren – bass
Billy Higgins – drums
Jual Curtis – tambourine (tracks 3-4)


Released: 1962
Recorded: June 18, 1962
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length 37:06
Label: Blue Note
BST 84107
Producer: Alfred Lion