Don Byas Quartet Feat. Sir Charles Thompson (1967, Storyville)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Live 1967 quartet session from Switzerland. The concert consists of ten classic jazz standards, played in the be-bop/mainstream jazz style to a clearly appreciative audience. They are all tunes which Byas and Thompson played when they worked together on various occasions during the 40’s and 50’s. Both Don Byas and Sir Charles Thompson worked with Coleman Hawkins early in their musical careers, and went on to be important proponents of the revolutionary be-bop style. Their style and ideas were wonderfully compatible, as can be heard in this relaxed reunion from 1967. While late in his career, Byas was at the peak of his powers. Some of the absolute best ballad-playing of Byas’ career can be heard here on “Loverman”, “Gone With The Wind” and “Tenderly”.” – StoryVille Records.

“… This CD offers an hour of solid playing from two of jazz history’s more neglected figures.” – Dave Nathan/AllAboutJazz.

Track listing:

1 Autumn Leaves (Joseph Kosma / Johnny Mercer / Jacques Prévert) 05:35
2 Darn That Dream (Eddie DeLange / James Van Heusen) 07:08
3 Bag’s Groove (Milt Jackson) 07:25
4 Tenderly (Walter Gross / Jack Lawrence) 07:14
5 But Not For Me (George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin) 07:03
6 Gone With The Wind (Herbert Magidson / Allie Wrubel) 08:58
7 The Girl From Ipanema (Norman Gimbel / Antônio Carlos Jobim / Vinícius de Moraes) 07:04
8 Loverman (Jimmy Davis / Roger “Ram” Ramirez / Jimmy Sherman) 07:45
9 Stella By Starlight (Ned Washington / Victor Young) 06:30
10 Jumpin’ At Basie’s (Don Byas) 02:03


Isla Eckinger – bass
Peter Schmidlin – drums
Sir Charles Thompson – piano
Don Byas – tenor saxophone


Label: Storyville ‎– STCD 8308
Format: CD
Released: February 6, 2001
Recorded: Live in Baden, April 29, 1967 (Jazz in der Aula), Switzerland.
Duration: 01:06:51