Bill Perkins Quintet featuring Victor Feldman ‎– Quietly There (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“This set by multi-reedist Bill Perkins (who switches between tenor, baritone, bass clarinet and flute) has been reissued on CD with one extra selection. On what was one of the earliest tributes to film composer Johnny Mandel, Perkins was careful to not only perform ballads such as “Emily,” “A Time for Love” and “The Shadow of Your Smile” but to add some variety by also playing a few of Mandel’s more obscure medium-tempo numbers. Still the results are generally pretty relaxed and tasteful on a quintet set with pianist Victor Feldman (who also plays some cheesy-sounding organ and vibes), guitarist John Pisano, bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Larry Bunker.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

1 Quietly There 4:20
2 Emily 5:22
3 Groover Wailin’ 5:30
4 A Time For Love 5:19
5 Sure As You’re Born 3:46
6 Just A Child 5:32
7 Keester Parade 3:51
8 The Shining Sea 2:28
9 Something Different 6:28
10 The Shadow Of Your Smile 4:51


Bill Perkins – tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, flute
Victor Feldman – piano, organ, vibraphone
Red Mitchell – bass
Larry Bunker – drums
John Pisano – electric guitar, classical guitar


Label: Riverside Records ‎– RS-3052
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 1966
Recorded: November 23, 1966 – November 30, 1966
Studio: Original Sound Studios