Benny Goodman and His Orchestra – 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert

Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The concert has been described as “the single most important jazz or popular music concert in history: jazz’s “coming out” party to the world of “respectable” music.”

Track listing:

1. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Don’t Be That Way 0:00
2. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Sometimes I’m Happy 4:25
3. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: One O’Clock Jump 8:36
4. Benny Goodman Dixieland Quintet: Sensation Rag 15:51
5. Benny Goodman 12-Piece Ensemble: I’m Coming Virginia 17:10
6. Benny Goodman Combo: When Baby Smiles At Me 19:21
7. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Shine 20:12
8. Benny Goodman Combo: Blue Reverie 21:20
9. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Life Goes To A Party 24:54
10. Benny Goodman 12-Piece Ensemble: Jam Session: Honeysuckle Rose 29:43
11. Benny Goodman Trio: Body And Soul 47:16
12. Benny Goodman Quartet: Avalon 50:51
13. Benny Goodman Quartet: The Man I Love 55:14
14. Benny Goodman Quartet: I Got Rhythm 58:42
15. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Blue Skies 1:03:23
16. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Loch Lomond 1:06:47
17. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Blue Room 1:10:53
18. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Swingtime In The Rockies 1:13:43
19. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Bei Mir Bist Du Schön 1:16:28
20. Benny Goodman Trio: China Boy 1:20:53
21. Benny Goodman Quartet: Stompin’ At The Savoy 1:25:52
22. Benny Goodman Quartet: Dizzy Spells 1:31:56
23. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Sing Sing Sing (With A Swing) 1:38:13
24. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: If Dreams Come True (Encore) 1:51:16
25. Benny Goodman & His Orchestra: Big John’s Special (Encore) 1:54:11


The Benny Goodman Orchestra:
Benny Goodman – clarinet, vocal, and leader
Chris Griffin, Ziggy Elman, Harry James – trumpets
Red Ballard, Vernon Brown – trombones
George Koenig, Art Rollini, Babe Russin, Hymie Schertzer – reed instruments
Jess Stacy – piano
Teddy Wilson – piano (BG trio and quartet only)
Lionel Hampton – vibraphone (BG quartet only)
Allan Reuss – guitar
Harry Goodman – bass
Gene Krupa – drums
Martha Tilton – vocal

Additional personnel:
Buck Clayton – trumpet
Bobby Hackett – cornet
Cootie Williams – trumpet
Harry Carney – baritone saxophone
Johnny Hodges – soprano and alto saxophones
Lester Young – tenor saxophone
Count Basie – piano
Freddie Green – guitar
Walter Page – bass


akin caldiran says:

l came to USA 1960 from Turkey and l am a proud American, when l cam to Kennedy airport l had few thinks with me and one of them this concert LP record, custom officer said to me l do not think he understood what l was trying to say, but l still have her, thank you l am 83 years old, l use to play when l was young but when l listen this music l still try to play on my coffee table

Write a comment