Ben Webster, Illinois Jacquet, Ike Quebec – The Angry Tenors

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Hey, these guys are mad! Not really, though, but the “angry” in the title refers to the fact that these are early recordings by the players – mostly done during the 78rpm years at Savoy, when all of them were getting their start in small group sessions. Webster plays with Oscar Pettiford and Johnny Guarnieri on a quartet session that includes “Blue Skies”, “Kat’s Fur”, and “I Surrender Dear”. Quebec is with Guarnieri in a quintet with a guitar, on the tracks “Jim Dawgs”, “Scufflin”, “IQ Blues”, and “Girl Of My Dreams”. And Illinois Jacquet rounds out the record in a sextet with Bill Doggett on piano and Freddie Green on guitar – on tracks that include “Savoy Blip”, “Doggin With Doggett”, and “Minor Romp”. – Dusty Groove.

Track listing:

00:00 A1 Jim Dawgs
02:58 A2 Scufflin’
05:51 A3 I.Q. Blues
08:49 A4 Girl Of My Dreams
12:15 A5 Savoy Blip
15:08 A6 Doggin’ With Dogget
18:08 B1 Minor Romp
20:57 B2 Berry’s Blues
23:41 B3 Blues Skies
26:53 B4 Kat’s Fur
30:00 B5 I Surrender Dear
33:05 B6 Honeysuckle Rose


Bass – John Simmons (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2), Milt Hinton (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4), Oscar Pettiford (tracks: B3, B4, B5, B6)
Drums – David Booth (tracks: B3, B4, B5, B6), J.C. Heard (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4), Shadow Wilson (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2)
Guitar – Bill De Arango (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4), Freddie Greene (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2)
Piano – Bill Doggett (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2), Johnny Guarnieri (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4, B3, B4, B5, B6)
Tenor Saxophone – Ben Webster (tracks: B3, B4, B5, B6), Ike Quebec (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4), Illinois Jacquet (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2)
Trumpet – Emmett Berry (tracks: A5, A6, B1, B2)


Ike Quebec session recorded 7 August 1945.
Illinois Jacquet session recorded 7 January 1946.
Ben Webster session recorded 17 April 1944.