Artie Shaw – Re-Creates His Great ’38 Band

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


It’s 1938 band that was recreated in stereo in 1968 by Capitol Records, with Shaw conducting and producing, though not playing. Shaw’s clarinet part is played by Walt Levinsky.

Track listing:

A1 Traffic Jam 2:20
A2 Begin the Beguine 3:17
A3 Lover Come Back To Me 3:50
A4 Zigeuner 2:53
A5 What Is This Thing Called Love 3:18
A6 It Had To Be You 2:34
B1 Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise 3:22
B2 Octoroon 3:03
B3 Nightmare 2:58
B4 Back Bay Shuffle 3:26
B5 Jungle Drums 3:52
B6 Copenhagen 2:4


Label: Capitol Records – T 2992
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono
Country: UK
Released: 1968
Genre: Jazz
Style: Big Band