Mike Mainieri ‎– Journey Thru An Electric Tube

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Journey Thru an Electric Tube is an album by American jazz vibraphonist Mike Mainieri first released in 1968 on the Solid State label.

“Journey Through an Electric Tube is not likely to be high on anyone’s list, just as Mainieri is an obscure vibist. Journey may well be a cash-in on Dave Pike’s success with The Doors of Perception and similar works. Journey features excellent ideas and playing and of course Sonny Lester’s top direction. You have female vocals on two tracks, bossa nova on one, some fuzztone here, and “Allow Your Mind to Wander” is a 14-minute jam. It is all low-volume, pleasant, and never-abrasive, however. Call it gently experimental, forward-looking without being too forward or pretentious.” – Tony Wilds/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“It’s All Becoming So Clear Now” (Mike Mainieri)− 5:21
“The Wind” − (Mike Mainieri, Sally Waring) − 5:15
“Connecticut Air” (Waring) − 2:47
“We’ll Speak Above the Roar” − 6:16
“The Bush” (Mike Mainieri)− 2:54
“I’ll Sing You Softly of My Life” (Mike Mainieri) − 4:45
“Yes, I’m the One” (Mainieri, Waring) − 0:47
“Allow Your Mind to Wander” (Mike Mainieri) − 13:53

Mike Mainieri – electric vibes
Jeremy Steig − flute (tracks 1, 2, 4, 5 & 8)
Joe Beck − electric guitar (tracks 1, 4, 6 & 8)
Sam Brown − electric guitar, classical guitar (tracks 2, 7 & 8)
Warren Bernhardt − piano, organ (tracks 2. 6 & 8)
Donald MacDonald − drums (tracks 4 & 8)
Sally Waring − vocals (tracks 2 & 7)


Released: 1968
Recorded: 1968
Length: 41:58
Label: Solid State
SS 18049
Producer: Sonny Lester