Kevin Eubanks ‎– East West Time Line

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“… Joining Eubanks on this outing is longtime collaborator and former Berklee College of Music schoolmate, drummer Marvin “Smitty” Smith, who fuels the West Coast outfit alongside seasoned session bassist Rene Camacho, percussionist Mino Cinelu and saxophonist Bill Pierce. Smith’s East Coast counterpart on this bi-coastal session is the swinging Jeff “Tain” Watts, a force of nature on the kit who combines with bassist Dave Holland, Philadelphia-based pianist Orrin Evans and New York trumpeter Nicholas Payton. Together these great musicians bring out the best in Eubanks’ six-string prowess and ignite his searching instincts throughout the sessions in Los Angeles and New York. Eubanks expands on the project, “Of course, we all came up through New York,” says the guitarist who broke in with Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers during the early ’80s. “But we also got the benefits of seeing the East Coast down and dirty and Hollywood down and dirty too. We combined both vibes on this recording—the kind of Latin vibe of Los Angeles and the straight up swinging vibe of New York.” – Geannine Reid/AllAboutJazz.

Track listing:
1 Time Line (Kevin Eubanks) 6:29
2 Watercolors (Kevin Eubanks) 8:55
3 Poet (Kevin Eubanks) 7:06
4 Carnival (Kevin Eubanks) 4:16
5 Something About Nothing (Kevin Eubanks) 8:43
6 Take The Coltrane (Edward Kennedy Ellington) 6:21
7 Captain Señor Mouse (Chick Corea) 4:52
8 Cubano Chant (Ray Bryant) 4:57
9 What’s Going On (Al Cleveland, Marvin Gaye, Renaldo Benson) 3:15
10 My One And Only Love (Guy Wood, Robert Mellin) 7:34


  • Kevin Eubanks – guitar
  • Marvin “Smitty” Smith – drums (tracks: 6 to 10)
  • Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums (tracks: 1 to 5)
  • Rene Camacho – bass (tracks: 6 to 10)
  • Dave Holland – bass (tracks: 1 to 5)
  • Mino Cinelu – percussion (tracks: 6 to 10)
  • Bill Pierce – tenor saxophone (tracks: 6 to 10)
  • Orrin Evans –  piano (tracks: 1 to 5)
  • Nicholas Payton – trumpet (tracks: 1 to 5)


Label: Mack Avenue ‎– MAC1119
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 07 Apr 2017