Joe Pass with Herb Ellis – Joe’s Blues (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Joe Pass with Herb Ellis – Joe’s Blues

recorded in 1968 and released in 1998

AllMusic Review by Robert Taylor
Originally recorded in 1968, but not released until thirty years later on the Laser Light label. Joe’s Blues is the first of three sessions Joe Pass recorded with colleague and friend, Herb Ellis. It was recorded following Pass’ stint as the featured guitarist on Billy Eckstine’s television show. His playing is bursting with energy and is a fine preview of what was to come during the next three decades. Ellis proves to be a complementary accompanist and provides his own trademark playing without infringing on Pass’ leadership. Highlights include the foot-stomping “Alexander’s Ragtime Band” and the two duets, “The Shadow of Your Smile” and “You Stepped Out of a Dream.” The latter two would inspire the highly recommended recordings, Seven, Come Eleven and Two for the Road.

Track listing:

1. Alexander’s Ragtime Band (Irving Berlin)
2. Look for the Silver Lining (Jerome Kern, Buddy DeSylva)
3. Joe’s Blues (Joe Pass)
4. Georgia (Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell)
5. When You’re Smiling (Shay, Fisher, and Goodwin)
6. The Shadow of Your Smile (Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster)
7. What Have They Done to My Song, Ma (Melanie Safka)
8. You Stepped Out of a Dream (Herb Nacio Brown, Gus Kahn)
9. Sweet Georgia Brown (Ben Bernie, Maceo Pinkard, Kenneth Casey)


Joe Pass – guitar
Herb Ellis – guitar on “The Shadow of Your Smile” and “You Stepped Out of a Dream”
Colin Bailey – drums
Monty Budwig – bass