James Moody – James Moody & His Swedish Crowns

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“This Dragon LP features James Moody’s Swedish sessions of 1949, highlighted by his famous “Moody’s Mood For Love” (which was turned into a vocalese classic by Eddie Jefferson and King Pleasure a few years later). Moody’s cool-toned tenor and alto were influential in Sweden and he was really developing his own sound and style during this period. Among his sidemen on the 15 selections are altoist Arne Domnerus, pianist Gosta Theselius and many obscure but talented musicians. The music is quite boppish as can be ascertained by the titles of three of Moody’s originals: “Three Bop Mice,” “I’m In The Mood For Bop” and “The Flight Of The Bopple Bee.” Highly recommended and due to be reissued on CD.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
A1 –Arne Domnérus Favourite Group Laura 3:17
A2 –Arne Domnérus Favourite Group Car Rider 2:58
A3 –James Moody And His Swedish Crowns* Out Of Nowhere 2:53
A4 –James Moody And His Swedish Crowns* These Foolish Things 3:06
A5 –James Moody Three Bop Mice 5:44
A6 –James Moody Quintet I´m In The Mood For Bop 2:40
A7 –James Moody Quartet The Flight Of The Bopple Bee 2:43
B1 –James Moody And His Swedish Crowns* Body And Soul 3:17
B2 –James Moody And His Swedish Crowns* Moody´s Mood For Love 2:48
B3 –James Moody And His Swedish Crowns* Lester Leaps In 3:10
B4 –James Moody Sextet Indiana 2:51
B5 –James Moody Sextet Good Bait 2:52
B6 –James Moody And His Cool Cats* Dexterious 2:41
B7 –James Moody Over The Rainbow 2:52
B8 –James Moody Blue And Moody 3:00


Alto Saxophone – Arne Domnérus (tracks: A1to A4, B1 to B3), James Moody (tracks: B1, B2)
Baritone Saxophone – Per-Arne Croona (tracks: A1 to A4, B1 to B3)
Bass – Yngve Åkerberg
Dums – Anders Burman (tracks: A3 to A5, B1 to B6), Jack Noren (tracks: A6, A7), Sven Bollhem (tracks: A1, A2, B7, B8)
Guitar – Rolf Berg (tracks: B4 to B6)
Piano – Gösta Theselius (tracks: A1 to A4, A7), Thore Swanerud (tracks: A5, A6, B4 to B8)
Tenor Saxophone – Gösta Theselius (tracks: A1 to A4, B1, B2), James Moody (tracks: A, B3 to B8), Lennart Köhlin (tracks: A5), Rolf Blomquist (tracks: A5)
Trumpet – Leppe Sundewall (tracks: A2, A6)
Trumpet [Bass] – Leppe Sundewall (tracks: A1, A3, A4, B1 to B3)
Vibraphone – Ulf Linde (tracks: B4 to B6, B8)


Label: Dragon
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mono
Country: Sweden
Released: 1986
Recorded: October 6, 1949 – October 18, 1949