Cecil Taylor Ensemble ‎– Always A Pleasure (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Always a Pleasure is a live album by Cecil Taylor recorded at the Akademie der Kunste, Berlin on April 8, 1993, and released on the FMP label. The album features a concert performance by Taylor with Longineu Parsons, Harri Sjöström, Charles Gayle, Tristan Honsinger, Sirone and Rashid Bakr.

The Allmusic review by Thom Jurek awarded the album 4½ stars and stated : “Fans and curiosity seekers would be well-advised to seek it out and prepare themselves to be blown away by the depth and dimension Taylor’s musical soul reveals when it is challenged and upheld by such a phenomenal group of talent.”

Track listing:
All compositions by Cecil Taylor.
“First” – 32:56
“Second” – 5:00
“Third” – 30:41
“Fourth” – 7:51 Pleasure

Recorded at the Akademie der Kunste, Berlin on April 8, 1993

Cecil Taylor – piano, voice
Longineu Parsons – trumpet
Harri Sjöström – soprano saxophone
Charles Gayle – tenor saxophone
Tristan Honsinger – cello
Sirone – bass
Rashid Bakr – drums


Released: 1996
Recorded: April 8, 1993
Length: 76:28
Label: FMP