Bebo Valdés – Bebo de Cuba

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Bebo Valdés, one of the giants of Cuban music of the 1950s and the father of pianist Chucho Valdés, has lived in Stockholm since the early ’60s, including 34 years on which he did not record, playing in anonymity. His rediscovery in the 1990s was a major event, and this two-CD set is one of the high points of his career. Utilizing an all-star group, Valdés (who was 86 at the time) debuts his eight-part “Suite Cubana” and also plays a variety of shorter pieces on the second CD, subtitled “El Solar de Bebo,” with a combo. The music, particularly on the first CD, is a bit reminiscent of the music that he performed in Cuba in the 1950s, but it includes more modern solos and a heavier emphasis on jazz. The strong melodies, colorful improvisations, and exciting ensembles make Bebo de Cuba a classic. In addition, this superb package includes a bonus 22-minute DVD that tells the story behind this project. Bebo de Cuba is essential for all fans of Afro-Cuban jazz.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
Disc 1
1 Suite Cubana: Är Ni Fröken Pehrson? (Intro) 00:29
2 Suite Cubana: Cachao, Creador del Mambo 07:43
3 Suite Cubana: Devoción 04:01
4 Suite Cubana: El Son de Cecilio 07:12
5 Suite Cubana: Ecuación 11:37
6 Suite Cubana: Copla Nº 4 05:32
7 Suite Cubana: Nocturno en Batanga 09:16
8 Suite Cubana: Är Ni Fröken Pehrson? (Comparsa) 01:38

Disc 2
1 El Solar de Bebo 06:55
2 Kabul y Lorenzo 08:23
3 Mayra 05:00
4 El Quitrín (Haciendo Patria) 04:28
5 La Mula 07:06
6 La Iballah 05:04
7 Rose Marie 05:20
8 De Baracutey 07:05
9 Miriam 06:14
10 El Guajeo de Rickard 05:13

Composed By, Arranged By, Directed By – Bebo Valdés


Label: Calle 54 Records
‎Format: 2 × CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2004
Recorded: November 2, 2002 – November 13, 2002