Jaimie Branch – Fly or Die

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Fly or Die Fly or Die Fly or Die is the posthumous third studio album by American jazz trumpeter Jaimie Branch, released through International Anthem Recording Company on August 25, 2023. It was recorded by Branch in April 2022 at the Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts in Omaha, Nebraska. Mixes were completed by Branch’s quartet Fly or Die and her family after her death in August 2022. The album received universal acclaim from critics.

AllMusic’s Matt Collar found there to be “a psychedelic rock quality to much of the album” as Branch “takes all of what came before and pushes it to the limit, crafting a dynamic punk-jazz album underpinned by the groups’ textured acoustic chamber group improv and joyous street-party energy”

Track listing:
1. “Aurora Rising” 1:58
2. “Borealis Dancing” 7:01
3. “Burning Grey” 9:10
4. “The Mountain” (featuring Jason Ajemian) 4:56
5. “Baba Louie” 9:07
6. “Bolinko Bass” 4:32
7. “And Kuma Walks” 1:59
8. “Take Over the World” 4:58
9. “World War (Reprise)” 3:06

Jaimie Branch – trumpet, voice, keyboard, percussion, cover art, editing
Lester St. Louis – cello, voice, flute, marimba, keyboard, liner notes
Jason Ajemian – double bass, electric bass, voice, marimba, liner notes
Chad Taylor – drums, mbira, timpani, bells, marimba, liner notes

Released: August 25, 2023
Recorded: April 2022
Studio: Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts, Omaha, Nebraska[1]
Length: 46:00
Label: International Anthem
Producer: Jaimie Branch