Woody Herman – The Second Herd Live In Hollywood (1948)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Woody Herman’s Second Herd came of age during a year (1948) when, due to a recording strike, very few records were made. This CD contains three radio broadcasts and gives listeners a good idea of what it was like to see the big band live. With such major players as trumpeter/arranger Shorty Rogers, trombonist Earl Swope, guitarist Jimmy Raney, baritonist Serge Chaloff, and the tenors of Al Cohn, Stan Getz, and Zoot Sims, this was a powerhouse unit that was pretty modern for the time. Mary Ann McCall and Woody Herman take occasional vocals, and there are some dance numbers, but it is the jazz tunes (such as “Half Past Jumping Time,” “Non Alcoholic,” “Tiny’s Blues,” “The Goof and I,” and “Four Brothers”) that make this a fairly significant release.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

A1 Half Past Jumpin’ Time
A2 My Pal Gonzales
A3 Star Dust
A4 Lullaby In Rhythm
A5 Swing Low, Sweet Clarinet
A6 Keen And Peachy
B1 The Goof And I
B2 I Cover The Waterfront
B3 Four Brothers
B4 I’ve Got The World On A String
B5 You Turned The Tables On Me
B6 What’ll I Do
B7 Apple Honey


Label: Queen-disc ‎– Q-037
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Italy
Recorded: March 12, 1948 – May 12, 1948